Interview: Gang of Four’s Andy Gill

1dfc48ddba3ea2cec9e4f7229cb68674

Photo via Fox brother’s garage.

This years Record Store Day marks the one year anniversary of me doing my first ever interview! RSD2015, Spindle Magazine sent me to cover the events in Berwick Street and interview some of the bands and artists playing, one of them being Gang of Four’s Andy Gill – Might as well start at the top, eh? Although this interview is a year old, I’m guessing most of it is still pretty relevant today, and worth reposting. Before getting down to business with the interview, Andy took the time to chat about everything from Scandinavia to Moby Dick, which he by the way recommends everyone to read. A year later and I’ve yet to read it (sorry Andy!).


What does Record Store Day mean to you?
A day like today reminds people what it’s all about – the music, and the people and process behind it. It connects the people who make music, with the people who love music.

How do you as an artist feel streaming and digital downloading affects you?
You can’t make a living out of having your music streamed online, and I know a lot of musicians have issues with that. I keep hearing it will change, but I’ll believe it when I see it. When it comes to digital downloading I don’t have a problem with that, I buy music off iTunes and pay decent money for it, that’s how it should be. Then there’s that whole thing with piracy – it’s funny how people wouldn’t go to Tesco and steal a chocolate bar, but they don’t have any problems with downloading an entire album, where so many people have put lots of time, effort and money behind it.

Do you buy records?
Rarely. I’m quite a busy man, and I only listen to music when I’m driving. If I could choose I’d listen to vinyl all the time, but having a good old record player in my car probably wouldn’t be the most practical thing – I’d need huge balloon-like tyres as every little bump in the road would make the needle jump.


Do you see a future for physical music?
I’m not sure. People say vinyl sales are going up, but the industry have changed so much over the past few decades. In the 80’s, record labels would throw money at bands, and you ended up with all these lazy musicians getting paid an absolute fortune to do nothing. Today, bands are struggeling to even get the money to record an album and get it out there – it’s really hard to make a living from music in this day and age. I hope events like this can help keep the record alive, and introduce it to the younger generation.

Leave a Reply

